Contact

Disclaimer

GTC

©2018 rexotec

Fon +49 (0)9244 – 982 677 0

BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module

BREX® – the first product worldwide to combine fire protection and flameless explosion venting

 

So far, there has been no protective system combining both functions. Protecting enclosed spaces with both fire and explosion hazards (e.g. transformer rooms, containers or storerooms) usually involves structural modifications and investing a lot of money. And what's worse, in certain cases the standard precautions are not appropriate to satisfy safety requirements, as will be explained later.

 

The BREX® module developed by rexotec AG will be the first protective device on the market which was tested by an acknowledged German certification body and meets the requirements for flameless explosion venting devices and for building components rated fire resistance class F90/EI90 (i.e. 90 minutes fire resistance duration).

 

The patented BREX® system works reliably as a flame barrier, no matter what comes first: a fire or a rise in pressure.

Self-reclosing venting element

 

Currently available protective solutions for facilities at risk of explosion as well as fire typically rely on pressure venting and subsequent sealing of the affected compartment with self-closing fire barriers (e.g. explosion doors or panels). The compartment is then tightly closed. If an explosion or pressure rise occurs after the original incident, venting is no longer possible. This can result in significant damage to property and personal or even fatal injuries.

 

The BREX® module comes with self-reclosing venting covers, which reclose tightly immediately after each opening. In the event of a subsequent second pressure rise, the venting covers open again. This operation is repeatable an almost unlimited number of times and functions purely mechanically, i.e. without error-prone electric parts.

 

This makes the BREX® module the only building component rated F90/EI90 that ensures safe venting in the event of subsequent explosions or deflagrations.

BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module

1,000°C inside, under 100°C on the outside: for the duration of 90 minutes

 

Tests carried out by a notified body proved that the new system complies with the EN 1634-1 and 1634-3 requirements for F90/EI90 building components.

 

During the fire resistance testing, the temperature inside the fire compartment was 1,000°C. The BREX® module prevented flame emission and the temperature on the outside did not exceed 100°C during the 90-minute test.

 

The temperature of the combustion gases (which were reduced to a permissible limit) was not higher than that either.

 

The tremendous energy absorption potential of the flame-quenching element developed by rexotec became evident already during the EC Type Examination tests for the scubex® as flameless explosion venting device: while temperatures inside the housing reached approximately 1,500°C in tests with 99.5% aluminium dust, the surface temperature was measured to be below 100°C.

BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module

Determination of the airflow volume

 

The airflow volume is measured for each version of the BREX® module. The resulting curve chart exactly shows the air or gas volume that passes through the module per unit time at a certain pressure. This is the basis for determining the number of BREX® modules required for any given application.

BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module

Flow Simulation: we don't guess but calculate

 

We use state-of-the-art flow simulation software already in the development phase of our products. It offers the possibility to calculate and visualize e.g. the rate and direction of propagation of a pressure wave as well as the resulting pressure or temperature at any point of the device. The findings obtained with this method help us to both optimize our products and find appropriate protective solutions for our clients' plants.

The picture clearly shows that most of the pressure wave released after the opening of the venting covers spreads out along the outer surface of the protected vessel, almost nothing is released into the surrounding area. The risk of damage to property or injury is significantly reduced.

Technical information

 

 • Fire resistance class F90 acc. to DIN 4102-2, corresponding to EI90 acc. to EN 13501-2

 • completely dust-proof

 • highly gas-tight (leakage < 0.2 m³/h)

 • smoke-tight acc. to DIN EN 1634-3

 • Operating temperature: -40°C to 600°C

 • Vacuum stability: up to 200 mbar / 20,000 Pa

 • Opening pressure: default setting by manufacturer from 10 to 100 mbar (g)

 • Opening path of the venting covers: ≤ 120 mm

 • Dimensions: according to drawing

 

 

 

 

 

Flexible facility design thanks to integrated fire and explosion protection

 

The BREX® module is simply inserted into a wall opening of 550mm x 550mm and bolted directly to the wall. Several modules can be combined to form a larger element: an extremely space-saving solution, which almost disappears inside the wall.

 

The number of BREX® modules required depends, among other things, on the strength of the wall, the volume of the compartment and of course the items that are likely to cause fire or a pressure increase. Computer simulation, which delivers sufficiently accurate results, is used to help design the appropriate protection for each plant.

 

A side effect of the BREX® module is an improved noise insulation.

Of course the BREX® module can also be used to upgrade existing facilities.

 

 

 

 

 

We will be glad to help you plan and design the appropriate explosion protection solution for your plant and determine the devices that best suit your specific needs. Contact us to discuss your options and receive a non-binding offer—our competence and cost-efficiency will convince you.

 

 

BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module
BREX® = fire protection + flameless venting in one module

Protection in case of subsequent explosions

Currently available protective solutions for facilities at risk of explosion as well as fire typically rely on pressure venting and subsequent sealing of the affected compartment with self-closing fire barriers (e.g. explosion doors or panels). The compartment is then tightly closed. If an explosion or pressure rise occurs after the original incident, venting is no longer possible. This can result in significant damage to property and personal or even fatal injuries.

The BREX® module comes with self-reclosing venting covers, which reclose tightly immediately after each opening. In the event of a subsequent second pressure rise, the venting covers open again. This operation is repeatable an almost unlimited number of times and functions purely mechanically, i.e. without error-prone electric parts.

 

This makes the BREX® module the only building component rated F90/EI90 that ensures safe venting in the event of subsequent explosions or deflagrations.

1,000°C inside, under 100°C on the outside: for the duration of 90 minutes

Tests carried out by a notified body proved that the new system complies with the EN 1634-1 and 1634-3 requirements for F90/EI90 building components.

 

During the fire resistance testing, the temperature inside the fire compartment was 1,000°C. The BREX® module prevented flame emission and the temperature on the outside did not exceed 100°C during the 90-minute test.

 

The temperature of the combustion gases (which were reduced to a permissible limit) was not higher than that either.

 

The tremendous energy absorption potential of the flame-quenching element developed by rexotec became evident already during the EC Type Examination tests for the scubex® as flameless explosion venting device: while temperatures inside the housing reached approximately 1,500°C in tests with 99.5% aluminium dust, the surface temperature was measured to be below 100°C.

Determination of the airflow volume

The airflow volume is measured for each version of the BREX® module. The resulting curve chart exactly shows the air or gas volume that passes through the module per unit time at a certain pressure. This is the basis for determining the number of BREX® modules required for any given application.

Flow Simulation: we don't guess but calculate

We use state-of-the-art flow simulation software already in the development phase of our products. It offers the possibility to calculate and visualize e.g. the rate and direction of propagation of a pressure wave as well as the resulting pressure or temperature at any point of the device. The findings obtained with this method help us to both optimize our products and find appropriate protective solutions for our clients' plants.

The picture clearly shows that most of the pressure wave released after the opening of the venting covers spreads out along the outer surface of the protected vessel, almost nothing is released into the surrounding area. The risk of damage to property or injury is significantly reduced.

Technical information

 • Fire resistance class F90 acc. to DIN 4102-2

   corresponding to EI90 acc. to EN 13501-2

 • completely dust-proof

 • highly gas-tight (leakage < 0.2 m³/h)

 • smoke-tight acc. to DIN EN 1634-3

 • Operating temperature: -40°C to 600°C

 • Vacuum stability: up to 200 mbar / 20,000 Pa

 • Opening pressure: default setting by manufacturer

   from 10 to 100 mbar (g)

 • Opening path of the venting covers: ≤ 120 mm

 • Dimensions: according to drawing

 

 

 

 

Flexible facility design thanks to integrated fire and explosion protection

 

The BREX® module is simply inserted into a wall opening of 550mm x 550mm and bolted directly to the wall. Several modules can be combined to form a larger element: an extremely space-saving solution, which almost disappears inside the wall.

 

The number of BREX® modules required depends, among other things, on the strength of the wall, the volume of the compartment and of course the items that are likely to cause fire or a pressure increase. Computer simulation, which delivers sufficiently accurate results, is used to help design the appropriate protection for each plant.

 

A side effect of the BREX® module is an improved noise insulation.

 

Of course the BREX® module can also be used to upgrade existing facilities.

 

 

 

 

 

We will be glad to help you plan and design the appropriate explosion protection solution for your plant and determine the devices that best suit your specific needs. Contact us to discuss your options and receive a non-binding offer—our competence and cost-efficiency will convince you.

©2018 rexotec

Kontakt

Disclaimer/Datenschutz

AGB

Tel.: +49 (0)9244 – 982 677 0

Baureihe BREX®

Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung in einem Modul

BREX® - das weltweit erste Produkt, das Brandschutz und flammenlosen Explosionsschutz vereint

 

Bisher gab es kein Schutzsystem, das beide Funktionen vereinte. Der Schutz von Räumen, in denen sowohl Brand- als auch Explosionsrisiken bestehen (z. B. Traforäume, Container oder Lagerhallen), war bisher nicht nur mit erheblichem baulichem und finanziellem Aufwand verbunden. Die heute üblichen Maßnahmen sind noch dazu, wie später aufgezeigt wird, im Einzelfall sicherheitstechnisch unbefriedigend.

 

Mit dem BREX® bringt die Firma rexotec AG das erste bei einem renommierten deutschen Institut geprüfte Schutzmodul auf den Markt, das die Anforderungen für flammenlose Explosionsdruckentlastungen und für im Brandschutz einsetzbare Bauteile der Feuerwiderstandsklasse F 90 bzw. EI 90 erfüllt (d. h. Feuerwiderstandsdauer 90 Minuten).

 

Das patentierte BREX®-System erfüllt seine Funktion als Flammensperre zuverlässig, egal welches Ereignis zuerst eintritt: der Brand oder der Druckanstieg.

Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung

Automatisch wiederverschließendes Entlastungselement

 

Heute übliche Schutzkonzepte für Anlagen, die sowohl explosions- als auch brandgefährdet sind, sehen in der Regel eine Druckentlastung und anschließende Abriegelung des Raumes durch selbstschließende Feuerschutzabschlüsse (z. B. Brandschutzklappen oder –türen) vor. Danach ist der Raum dicht verschlossen. Kommt es nach dem ursprünglichen Ereignis zu Verpuffungen oder Explosionen, ist keine Druckentlastung mehr möglich. Als Konsequenz drohen erhebliche Schäden an Gebäuden, im schlimmsten Fall sogar Personenschäden.

 

Das BREX®-Modul ist mit automatisch wiederverschließenden Entlastungsdeckeln ausgestattet, die nach jedem Öffnungsvorgang sofort wieder dicht schließen. Bei einem erneuten Druckanstieg öffnen sich die Deckel wie beim ersten Ansprechen. Dieser Vorgang ist nahezu unbegrenzt wiederholbar und funktioniert rein mechanisch, d. h. ohne jede fehleranfällige Elektrik.

 

Damit ist der BREX® derzeit das einzige Bauteil der Feuerwiderstandsklasse F 90, das eine sichere Druckentlastung bei nachfolgenden Explosionen oder Verpuffungen gewährleistet.

Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung

Innen 1.000 °C, außen unter 100 °C – 90 Minuten lang

 

Prüfungen bei einer benannten Stelle lieferten den Nachweis, dass das neue System die Vorgaben der DIN EN 1634-1 und 1634-3 für F-90-Bauteile erfüllt.

 

Bei der Brandschutzprüfung betrug die Temperatur im Brennraum 1.000 °C. Das BREX®-Modul verhinderte den Flammendurchtritt, und die Temperatur an der Außenfläche stieg während der 90-minütigen Prüfung nicht über 100 °C an.

 

Auch die auf ein zulässiges Minimum reduzierten austretenden Verbrennungsgase wurden nicht heißer.

 

Das enorme Energieaufnahme-Potenzial des von rexotec entwickelten Flammenlösch-Elements zeigte sich bereits bei der Zulassung des scubex® als flammenlose Explosionsdruckentlastung: Bei Explosionsversuchen mit 99,5-prozentigem Aluminiumpulver wurden im Inneren des Systems Temperaturen von circa 1.500 °C erzeugt, an der Oberfläche wurden jedoch keine 100 °C gemessen.

Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung

Messung des Luftvolumenstroms

 

Für jede Ausführung unserer BREX®-Module wird die Luftvolumenstrom-Kennlinie ermittelt. Sie ermöglicht eine exakte Aussage darüber, welches Luft- bzw. Gasvolumen das Modul bei welchem Druck pro Zeiteinheit passieren kann. Auf dieser Grundlage lässt sich für jede Anwendung die Anzahl der benötigten Module bestimmen.

Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung

Strömungssimulation: Rechnen statt Raten

 

Schon bei der Entwicklung unserer Produkte setzen wir dem neuesten Stand der Technik entsprechende Software zur Strömungssimulation ein. Mit ihrer Hilfe lassen sich beispielsweise Geschwindigkeit und Richtung einer Druckwelle sowie die an verschiedenen Stellen entstehenden Drücke und Temperaturen berechnen und darstellen. Die so gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden sowohl zur Optimierung unserer Produkte als auch bei der Auslegung von Schutzmaßnahmen in Kundenanlagen eingesetzt.

Auf dem Bild ist deutlich zu sehen, dass die nach dem Öffnen der Entlastungsdeckel austretende Strömung sich vorwiegend dicht entlang der Behälterwand und kaum nach vorne in den Raum hinein ausbreitet. Das Risiko von Sach- und Personenschäden in der nahen Umgebung ist deutlich reduziert.

Technische Daten

 

 • Feuerwiderstandsklasse F 90 nach DIN 4102-2, entsprechend EI 90 nach DIN EN 13501-2

 • absolut staubdicht

 • gasdicht mit einer Leckage von < 0,2 m³/h

 • rauchdicht nach DIN EN 1634-3

 • Betriebstemperatur: -40 °C bis +600 °C

 • Unterdruckstabilität: bis 200 mbar (Ü) / 20.000 Pa

 • Öffnungsdruck: werkseitig einstellbar von 10 mbar (Ü) bis 100 mbar (Ü)

 • Öffnungsweg der Entlastungsdeckel: ≤ 120 mm

 • Abmessungen: siehe Zeichnung

 

 

 

 

Flexible Gebäudeplanung durch integrierten Brand- und Explosionsschutz

 

Das BREX®-Modul wird einfach in eine Maueröffnung von 550 mm x 550 mm eingeschoben und mit Schrauben direkt in der Mauer befestigt. Mehrere Module können miteinander zu einer Einheit verbunden werden – eine extrem platzsparende Lösung, die nahezu in der Wand verschwindet.

 

Die Anzahl der erforderlichen BREX®-Module richtet sich unter anderem nach der Wandfestigkeit, dem Raumvolumen und natürlich dem Material, das den Brand oder Druckanstieg auslösen kann. Zur Auslegung werden Simulations-Berechnungen verwendet, die für jeden Einzelfall hinreichend genaue Ergebnisse liefern.

 

Als Nebeneffekt verbessert das BREX®-Modul außerdem den Schallschutz.

Natürlich ist eine Nachrüstung mit dem BREX® auch in bestehenden Gebäuden möglich.

 

 

 

 

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der korrekten Planung und Auslegung des Explosionsschutzes in Ihrer Anlage und bieten Ihnen die optimale Gerätekonfiguration an. Unser Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis wird Sie überzeugen – sprechen Sie mit uns oder fordern Sie ein unverbindliches Angebot an.

 

 

Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung
Baureihe BREX®   Brandschutz + flammenlose Druckentlastung

Automatisch wiederverschließendes Entlastungselement

Heute übliche Schutzkonzepte für Anlagen, die sowohl explosions- als auch brandgefährdet sind, sehen in der Regel eine Druckentlastung und anschließende Abriegelung des Raumes durch selbstschließende Feuerschutzabschlüsse (z. B. Brandschutzklappen oder –türen) vor. Danach ist der Raum dicht verschlossen. Kommt es nach dem ursprünglichen Ereignis zu Verpuffungen oder Explosionen, ist keine Druckentlastung mehr möglich. Als Konsequenz drohen erhebliche Schäden an Gebäuden, im schlimmsten Fall sogar Personenschäden.

Das BREX®-Modul ist mit automatisch wiederverschließenden Entlastungsdeckeln ausgestattet, die nach jedem Öffnungsvorgang sofort wieder dicht schließen. Bei einem erneuten Druckanstieg öffnen sich die Deckel wie beim ersten Ansprechen. Dieser Vorgang ist nahezu unbegrenzt wiederholbar und funktioniert rein mechanisch, d. h. ohne jede fehleranfällige Elektrik.

 

Damit ist der BREX® derzeit das einzige Bauteil der Feuerwiderstandsklasse F 90, das eine sichere Druckentlastung bei nachfolgenden Explosionen oder Verpuffungen gewährleistet.

Innen 1.000 °C, außen unter 100 °C –

90 Minuten lang

Prüfungen bei einer benannten Stelle lieferten den Nachweis, dass das neue System die Vorgaben der DIN EN 1634-1 und 1634-3 für F-90-Bauteile erfüllt.

 

Bei der Brandschutzprüfung betrug die Temperatur im Brennraum 1.000 °C. Das BREX®-Modul verhinderte den Flammendurchtritt, und die Temperatur an der Außenfläche stieg während der 90-minütigen Prüfung nicht über 100 °C an.

 

Auch die auf ein zulässiges Minimum reduzierten austretenden Verbrennungsgase wurden nicht heißer.

 

Das enorme Energieaufnahme-Potenzial des von rexotec entwickelten Flammenlösch-Elements zeigte sich bereits bei der Zulassung des scubex® als flammenlose Explosionsdruckentlastung: Bei Explosionsversuchen mit 99,5-prozentigem Aluminiumpulver wurden im Inneren des Systems Temperaturen von circa 1.500 °C erzeugt, an der Oberfläche wurden jedoch keine 100 °C gemessen.

Messung des Luftvolumenstroms

Für jede Ausführung unserer BREX®-Module wird die Luftvolumenstrom-Kennlinie ermittelt. Sie ermöglicht eine exakte Aussage darüber, welches Luft- bzw. Gasvolumen das Modul bei welchem Druck pro Zeiteinheit passieren kann. Auf dieser Grundlage lässt sich für jede Anwendung die Anzahl der benötigten Module bestimmen.

 

Strömungssimulation: Rechnen statt Raten

Schon bei der Entwicklung unserer Produkte setzen wir dem neuesten Stand der Technik entsprechende Software zur Strömungssimulation ein. Mit ihrer Hilfe lassen sich beispielsweise Geschwindigkeit und Richtung einer Druckwelle sowie die an verschiedenen Stellen entstehenden Drücke und Temperaturen berechnen und darstellen. Die so gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden sowohl zur Optimierung unserer Produkte als auch bei der Auslegung von Schutzmaßnahmen in Kundenanlagen eingesetzt.

Auf dem Bild ist deutlich zu sehen, dass die nach dem Öffnen der Entlastungsdeckel austretende Strömung sich vorwiegend dicht entlang der Behälterwand und kaum nach vorne in den Raum hinein ausbreitet. Das Risiko von Sach- und Personenschäden in der nahen Umgebung ist deutlich reduziert.

Technische Daten

 • Feuerwiderstandsklasse F 90 nach DIN 4102-2

   entsprechend EI 90 nach DIN EN 13501-2

 • absolut staubdicht

 • gasdicht mit einer Leckage von < 0,2 m³/h

 • rauchdicht nach DIN EN 1634-3

 • Betriebstemperatur: -40 °C bis +600 °C

 • Unterdruckstabilität: bis 200 mbar (Ü) / 20.000 Pa

 • Öffnungsdruck: werkseitig einstellbar von 10 mbar (Ü) bis 100 mbar (Ü)

 • Öffnungsweg der Entlastungsdeckel: ≤ 120 mm

 • Abmessungen: siehe Zeichnung

 

 

 

 

Flexible Gebäudeplanung durch integrierten Brand- und Explosionsschutz

 

Das BREX®-Modul wird einfach in eine Maueröffnung von 550 mm x 550 mm eingeschoben und mit Schrauben direkt in der Mauer befestigt. Mehrere Module können miteinander zu einer Einheit verbunden werden – eine extrem platzsparende Lösung, die nahezu in der Wand verschwindet.

 

Die Anzahl der erforderlichen BREX®-Module richtet sich unter anderem nach der Wandfestigkeit, dem Raumvolumen und natürlich dem Material, das den Brand oder Druckanstieg auslösen kann. Zur Auslegung werden Simulations-Berechnungen verwendet, die für jeden Einzelfall hinreichend genaue Ergebnisse liefern.

 

Als Nebeneffekt verbessert das BREX®-Modul außerdem den Schallschutz.

Natürlich ist eine Nachrüstung mit dem BREX® auch in bestehenden Gebäuden möglich.

 

 

 

 

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der korrekten Planung und Auslegung des Explosionsschutzes in Ihrer Anlage und bieten Ihnen die optimale Gerätekonfiguration an. Unser Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis wird Sie überzeugen – sprechen Sie mit uns oder fordern Sie ein unverbindliches Angebot an.